Address 840 South Spring Street, Suite B Springfield, IL 62704 Phone 217-726-7014 Fax 217-726-7833
Law Enforcement Training Advisory Commission
Reset Password

Legislative Update: New Laws as of January 2020

Notice
  • This event meets the criteria for specific mandated training
  • Non members please click here to contact us to request access to online registrations.

Login Required

Date: Monday, December 16, 2019
Time: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Instructor Location:
Decatur - Richland
1 College Park
Decatur, IL 62521
Driving Directions
Instructor: Don Hays
Member's Fee: $0
Non-Member & Civilian Fee: $80
DOWNLOAD FILE
Meets the following mandated training requirements: Constitutional and Proper Use of Law Enforcement Authority, Cultural competency, Human Rights, Legal Updates, Procedural Justice, and Use of Force

Instructor: Donald L. Hays, Illinois Prosecutor Services. For 30 years, Mr. Hays was the Senior Counsel for the Office of the Appellate Prosecutor. As Senior Counsel, he was in charge of the Continuing Legal Education programs for that office. For the past 25 years, Mr. Hays has trained prosecutors and law enforcement officers for the Office of the Appellate Prosecutor and for various Mobile Team Units in Illinois. Since retiring from state employment in 2009, Mr. Hays has authored the Illinois Criminal Offense Guide; the Juvenile Justice Case Digest; the Juvenile Justice Quarterly, and numerous other publications.

Course Covers: New Offenses; Criminal Law Amendments; Criminal Procedure Law Changes; Corrections Law Changes; Drugs and Alcohol Amendments; Firearms Amendments; Sex Offenses & Offenders Amendments; Children and Juvenile Law Amendments; Victims Rights and Consumer Fraud Changes; Domestic Violence Changes; Vehicle Code Changes; County Law Changes; Changes that create new Acts.

Non-Member Tuition: $80.00. Non-Member tuition shall apply to civilians, officers from State/Federal agencies, and officers from Local Law Enforcement agencies which are not a member of any MTU. Tuition will be invoiced to departments upon course completion. If a pre-registered student from a Non-Member agency fails to attend training, and the agency fails to provide advance notice within 7 days of the start date of that class, the agency will be invoiced the entire amount of the student's tuition.